Z-Day Has Finally Arrived

October 5, 2006

A little before 11:00PM EST, Zotero beta went live. I installed the extension for Firefox 2.0 on my laptop, and have been testing it out – very, very cool. Zotero uses the URL of books, web sites, pdfs, etc. to save information about the item. It adds tags from the item and allows the user to add notes about each citation. One really neat feature is that when Zotero saves the URL of articles, it removes the proxy information from the URL. Of course, that is only if one is accessing documents/articles through a proxy server. I certainly need to play around more with it, but it seems to be a wonderful tool for managing citation information. The biggest drawback???? The information is specific to one’s computer through a Firefox download on one’s local computer. I guess it is a good thing that I installed it on my laptop. My recommendation – go check it out.