Feed Updates In Bloglines

October 30, 2006

For quite a while I have noticed that on occasion when I add a new post to my blog, it takes a long time to show up in Bloglines. It has in the past taken as long as 24 hours for the post to appear. This is highly frustrating. But ultimately, I know I wrote a post, so I didn’t worry about it too much. The thought did cross my mind that it probably happens with other blogs as well, but I didn’t have any confirmation. Today, however, there were some references to posts on Library Stuff– and I knew I hadn’t seen them. Currently when I’m logged into Bloglines, it lists Library Stuff as being last updated on October 25 – which is not the case. There have been many posts since the 25th. My own feed is listed as last updated on October 28. This is a problem!!!!


Some Needed Words of Wisdom

October 30, 2006

Of late, my life has been full of work and school – too full. I am tired, overworked and overwhelmed. It dawned on me today that libraries have taken over my life. I work in one – and then spend all of my spare time learning about them. School and work overlap, and I never seem to be able to get away from either of them. To say that I am stressed out is definitely understating the case. Fortunately, today I got a timely reminder about stress management from Michael A. Golrick in a post on Thoughts from a Library Administrator. There are some great suggestions to remind us that life is indeed short, so we need to enjoy it. Work needs to stay at work – and I need to find time and places to do my school work. I can’t continue to allow both of them to take over my life – or sooner or later my head might explode!!